A Vintage Vision

So, as I have mentioned in my “About Me” section, I am currently in the process of moving out of the only home I’ve ever lived in and into a college dorm. While I am super sad about moving away from my mommy and daddy, I am SO excited to decorate my dorm room!

At first, I wasn’t sure which approach I wanted to take in my decorating. I was torn between my signature- red and cheetah- or a more neutral look- pink, mint, and browns incorporated with chevron elements. Then I got the bright idea….I wanted to create a vintage, rustic, shabby-chic dorm room- as much as one can create a vintage, rustic, shabby-chic dorm room. But, I had a vision and a determination to make it all come to life.

Here’s my first main element in getting the vintage feel: a headboard. I knew I wanted some type of headboard to dress up my bed, but I just wasn’t sure how to go about making one. Of course I found many examples on Pinterest, but nothing really jumped out at me as to what I was looking for. Until…

A few Saturdays ago my mom and I l took a road trip to Antique Alley in Denham Springs, Louisiana. Our first stop was in the Rusty Rooster, one of our all-time favorites. I found a vintage vanity that I knew would be a perfect piece for my dorm- because let’s face it, the furniture pieces provided in dorm rooms aren’t exactly vintage shabby chic. We kept strolling around the store, and my mom managed to find a bigggg wooden “ornate mantle piece” painted white.

Image

Don’t get me wrong, it was BEAUTIFUL. However, I looked at her like she was absolutely crazy when she told me it would make a perfect headboard. So we slept on the idea. Well, I guess technically we shopped on it. We continued down Antique Alley, but before leaving, we stopped back at the Rusty Rooster to purchase my vanity, and my new headboard. I had no idea what we were going to do with this big ole piece, but I knew that my mom rarely has bad ideas when it comes to decorating (after-all, I get my inspiration from somewhere!).

I knew my first step to making myself believe this was my new headboard was to paint it. A white headboard on white walls? Big no no. Plus the white on the frame was too stark against all the other decorations and fabrics I had picked out. So, I decided I would paint the headboard a lighter color, and distress is heavily. I had gone to St. Francisville a few weeks earlier and came across Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint, available at Benchmark Interiors located inside Sage Hill Gift Shop. However, I had been researching chalk paint through Pinterest and came across many cheap, DIY recipes. Two of the main reasons why I used chalk paint were because it does not require any primer, and it distresses super easily and SO beautifully. Here’s what I used:

  • 1 cup flat paint (I got real lucky and got a can for $.50- perks of “oops” paint!)
  • 1 tbsp non-sanded grout
  • 1 paintbrush
  • Sandpaper
  • A wooden stirrer- they have these all over the paint section at Home Depot and Lowe’s. The stirrer is important because it is easy for the grout to settle at the bottom of your container, and you don’t want that!
  • Paste finishing wax

Image

I made my chalk paint, for less than $20 might I add, and began painting my piece. After I let it dry, I went over certain places, and then I took sandpaper and began to distress the frame. This was by far the easiest part, and it turned out so good. I could not be happier with the result!

So..now I had my headboard painted the perfect color and distressed. Now it was time for me to create the inside. I took a big piece of cardboard and traced along the inside of the frame. Using a box-knife, I cut approximately 1 inch along the outside of my tracing. Then, I used bumper pad foam (ya know, the stuff they use in baby cribs)- available at Hancock fabrics- and used spray adhesive to attach them to the cardboard cutout. Since I did a light color on the frame, I wanted a dark fabric to contrast. I went ahead and ironed the two yards of brown burlap before I adhered it to the batting. My mom figured it was the perfect opportunity for me to learn how to iron, but personally I just wanted to try out my cute new chevron ironing board 😉

Image

Using a regular staple, I attached the burlap to the cardboard, about halfway between the border and the batting.  Then I screwed the carboard into the frame and  taaaa-daaaaa!!!  I’m so happy with my final outcome!

Image

ImageImage

Here are some more pictures of my dorm!

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

 Since I LOVE Mason Jars, I figured I’d try out my chalk paint on one!

Image

Where it’s from….

Bedspread: TJ Maxx

Pillows and Curtains: Hobby Lobby

Blue K and Chevron burlap: Hobby Lobby

Gray shelf piece: Red Door Interiors

Monogrammed Initials: Etsy

Headboard frame and mint window piece: Rusty Rooster

2 thoughts on “A Vintage Vision

Leave a Reply

